The Committee

Dunedin Schools Debating is an organisation responsible for organising and facilitating regular debating for Dunedin high school students. Our committee is formed from a combination of Otago University debaters, Dunedin high school teachers, and students. 

Senior DSD Convenor
Selena Ballantyne

Selena will be in her third year at Otago University in 2019 and looks forward to convening Senior Division of DSD for a third year. Selena was a member of the 2015 and 2016 Otago-Southland Regional Teams and enjoys supporting DSD which she gained so much from as a participant. 

Screen Shot 2018-12-04 at 7.05.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-12-04 at 6.59.36 PM.png
Junior DSD Convenor
Joe Garry

Joe will be in his third year at Otago University in 2019 and looks forward to convening the Junior Division of DSD for a third year. Joe was a member of the 2016 Otago-Southland Regional Team and enjoys setting debate motions that will challenge and extend participants. 

Suzanne Robins

Suzanne is the teacher in charge of debating at Logan Park High School, and returns as the Chairperson for 2019. Suzanne was a founding member of DSD, and continues to host the Junior Division of DSD this year.

OUDS Representative
Nick Robertson

Nick will be in his fifth year of university debating in 2019. He is also a past member of the Otago-Southland Regional Team. This year he will be convening Otago-Southland Regionals and co-coordinating other schools debating in the region.

Colby Allen

Colby is a year 13 student at Otago Boys High School and was a member of the Otago Development Squad in 2018. Colby is the student representative on the committee for 2019. 

Colby Profile.jpg

Contact Us

Get in touch with us!

Feel free to leave feedback in the provided form or email us directly at the email below. See also our Facebook page for regular updates.

  • Black Facebook Icon

Success! Message received.